The Netherlands Travel Guide
Home Netherlands Blog Contact

Regions of the Netherlands

From pristine beaches to dense forests and vast flat countryside to rolling hills, the Netherlands is administratively divided into 12 provinces. Also it is a small country, these provinces offer plenty of cultural differences.

The provinces can be divided in 4 main regions:

  • The west is the most urban, with the 4 largest cities (Rotterdam, Amsterdam, The Hague and Utrecht).
  • The north is the least densely populated and it's an interesting region for exploring the cultural heterogenity of the Netherlands.
  • The east is home to historic cities and wooded landscape
  • The south is famous for its Catholic culture and is separated from the north by by three large rivers.


Amsterdam Delft Gronigen The Hague Leiden Maastricht Nijmegen Rotterdam Utrecht